DMIC Steering Authority Centre for Urban Research

DMIC Steering Authority

Government of India constituted the Apex/Steering Authority in August, 2007 for DMIC Project with Finance Minister as the Chairman, concerned union ministers and six Chief Ministers as Members.
Government of India will ensure availability of external physical infrastructure linkages to the DMIC including rail, road (National Highways), ports, airports and telecom, in a time bound manner. This infrastructure would be created/ upgraded through PPPs to the extent possible. Central Government could provide the necessary viability gap funding through existing schemes. Wherever necessary, requisite budgetary provisions for creation of these linkages through the public sector could also be made.
Further, Government of India designated the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion (DIPP), Ministry of Industry and Commerce, GoI as the central level nodal agency for implementation of DMIC. On the Japanese side, the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI) will remain as a coordinating body for this project. The Task Force co-chaired by Secretary of DIPP and Vice Minister for of International Affairs of METI will be to supervise the process of making the Detailed Project Reports (DPR). The Task Force will also have the functions to make advice to DMICDC in project identification and monitoring of the whole project with a view of strenghthening the Indo-Japanese economic relations. The envisaged functions and composition for DMIC Steering Authority are briefly discussed hereafter:
A. Project Approval - planning of the project, approval of its concept and various elements and inter-se prioritization of schemes;
B. Approval of the financing pattern - proportion of domestic and foreign capital, extent of public-private funding, Grants and Loans, approvals for
viability funding arrangements;
C. Setting up of timelines for implementations and monitoring thereof.
(i) Union Minister for Finance- Chairman, Minister for Commerce & Industry, Deputy Chairman-Planning Commission;
(ii) Ministers In-charge of Infrastructure, viz., Shipping; Road Transport & Highways; Railways; Civil Aviation and Power, Urban Development
(iii) Chief Ministers of States through which DMIC passes, viz., UP, Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat Madhya Pradesh & Maharashtra.
(iv) CMD of DMICDC- Member secretary
Union Minister for Environment & Forest, Labour & Employment, Petroleum & Natural Gas, and Chemicals & Petrochemicals would be invitees.