Road Development Plan for National Capital Region of Delhi Centre for Urban Research
The five National Highways (NH-1, NH-2, NH-8, NH-10 & NH-24) converging onto the Ring Roads of the National Capital Region of Delhi are resulting in severe congestion with the movements of through movement of passenger and goods vehicles over the entire day. In order to avoid the congestion caused by through vehicles, provide linkages to the five National Highways outside the dense built-up areas of Delhi and improve accessibility and movement of goods and passenger vehicles, the Regional Plan-2021 for National Capital Region of Delhi envisages development of Peripheral Expressways, to effective serve as the third Ring Road for Delhi. The Peripheral Expressway Ring involves.

Western Peripheral Expressway The Western half of Peripheral Expressway Ring linking NH-1 at Kundli in the North to NH-2 at Faridabad/Palwal in the South via NH-10 & NH-8 (Manesar) along the western periphery of Delhi has been designated as the Western Peripheral Expressway, widely referred as Kundli-Manesar-Palwal Expressway. This expressway, with 4/6 lane access controlled configuration, offers access to the international airport in the capital, and facilitate the development of a new economic corridor. Expressway will have world-class

infrastructure such as parking lots, refilling stations, police stations, trauma centre, helipad, refreshment centres, police stations and recreational facilities. Government of Haryana envisages development of profile land uses as Knowledge City, Medi City, Fashion City, Leisure and Entertainment Cities, Cyber City and Dry-Port facility along with other similar developments.

This 135-km long Kundli-Manesar-Palwal expressway project is being developed by Haryana State Industrial Development Corporation (HSIIDC) through a Special Purpose Vehicle 'KMP Expressways' comprising M/s DS Constructions, Apollo Enterprises, UK, and Madhucon Projects. The cost of the project is estimated at INR 1,915 crore (includes cost of land acquisition- INR 630 Crore) and for a concession period of 23 years and 9 months was signed by HSIIDC and KMP Expressways. The Special Purpose Vehicle has achieved Financial Close on January 8, 2007 and this project has also received environmental clearance from the Ministry of Environment & Forest (MoEF), Government of India.

Eastern Peripheral Expressway The other half of the Peripheral Expressway Ring includes connectivity between NH-1 (at Kundli) and NH-2 (near south of Faridabad/Sikri) through Ghaziabad and NOIDA on the eastern side of National Capital Region of Delhi and is termed as the Eastern Peripheral Expressway. Spreading over a length of 105km, preliminary feasibility study for the total project is estimated at INR 368 Crore. It involves two links as:

. Faridabad-NOIDA-Ghaziabad (FNG) Expressway Corridor (56 km.)
. Ghaziabad-Kundli (GK) Expressway Corridor (49km)

Detailed feasibility studies have been completed for both the links of Eastern Peripheral Expressway with assistance from Asian Development Bank (ADB) and Japan International Corporation Agency (JICA). Eastern Peripheral Expressway is being implemented by National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) and also being monitored by the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways, Government of India.

Road Development Initiatives of Greater Noida, Western UP
In order to cater to the intensive pressure of the National Capital of Delhi on its periphery, a new city Greater Noida is developed by the Government of Uttar Pradesh, at a location about 25km from the border of Delhi. As per the Regional Plan-2021 for the National Capital Region, Greater Noida has been identified as a Metro Center lying in the rest of NCR zone.

The 'Rest of NCR' region has been designated as the accelerated development zone with substantial investments on infrastructure upgradation to ensure attractive economic development outside the municipal limits of Delhi, the National Capital of India. Master Plan for Greater Noida envisaged high quality physical, social and economic infrastructure. The notified area of Greater Noida comprises of 124 villages and 40,000Ha, bounded by National Highway-24 in the north-west, River Hindon on the western side and Grand Trunk Road/ Northern Railway Main to Kolkata on eastern side.

Greater Noida is served by following regional links . Noida-Greater Noida Expressway
. Link Road from NH-24 to the 'Entry Road' of the City
. Link Road from Grand Trunk Road (NH-2) via Dadri ROB
. Faridabad-Noida-Ghaziabad Expressway

Proposed Taj Expressway Connectivity Government of Uttar Pradesh has proposed development of 160-km long Expressway, widely referred as 'Taj Expressway', connecting Delhi with Agra, the renowned tourist destination through public private partnership. The alignment of proposed Taj Expressway will be almost parallel to National Highway No.2 (Delhi-Kolkata) and expected to provide enhanced alternate connectivity between Delhi and Agra. Accordingly, a special purpose vehicle

'Taj Expressway Development Authority' was created. The state government envisages public private partnership (PPP) concept for implementing Taj Expressway by allocating rights for 30 percent of 1500-meter belt along the route to joint venture partners for township development. It is important to note that Taj Expressway has also received Environmental Clearance recently.